‘Twas The Night Before Christmas (Teacher Version)

Christmas‘Twas the night before Christmas and up in her house,

A teacher sat staring, exhausted, at her spouse.

Her work clothes were hung in a closet without care,

In hopes that just sweatpants for two weeks she’d wear.

The children were all sent home with knowledge well-fed,

While worries about final grades danced in their heads.

And me in my sweatpants, my grading pen I capped.

And settled my brain in for its vacation nap.

When suddenly from the phone arose such a clatter,

I sprang from the couch to see what was the matter.

Away to my Android I flew like a flash,

The tea I’d been drinking hit the ground with a crash.

The screen of my phone with its ever-shining glow,

A whole world of worry in front of me did show.

For what to my terrified eyes should appear,

A list of school emails whose contents caused fear.

Those notifications, so loud and so quick!

I felt in a moment that I might be sick.

More rapid than eagles those emails they came.

They dinged and they binged and they shouted my name.

“Hey teacher!  Hey you there!  Hey Missus!  Hey Miss!

I have a paper, a late work, a somethings-amiss!

You must change my grade, you must change it now!

If you don’t I’ll be grounded and my parents will scowl!”

And thus in a twinkling, incontrovertible proof,

That exasperation is created by a teacher’s dear youth.

My head in my hands, I sat the phone on the table,

A whole break of begging?  Would I be able?

‘Twas then that I saw the solution before me –

Keeping my sanity would require ignoring.

I unlinked my email and smiled with glee.

That pleading and begging…good luck finding me!

My eyes how they twinkled!  My dimples how merry!

To work-proof the whole house!  I flew like a fairy!

I hid all the textbooks, tossed my pens in the trash.

No papers!  No lesson plans!  Down the hallway I dashed!

And once I had finished my work-proofing spree,

I settled on my couch, quite happy and free.

I poured a glass of wine, so smooth and so red.

“No more work for me,” so gleefully I said.

Then I spoke not a word, though my face held a smirk.

This winter vacation, my goodness, what a perk!

And laying my finger aside of my nose,

The peace of no worries for vacation I chose.

To teachers near and far, a wink and a whistle.

May your break be merry, a stress-free dismissal.

I raised my glass in a toast, the wine faded from sight.

Happy Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

This entry was posted in Education, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to ‘Twas The Night Before Christmas (Teacher Version)

  1. gealach says:

    Reblogged this on Gealachs Blogg and commented:
    Helt underbart!

  2. A.J. Carroll says:

    Your pure talent never ceases to amaze me! Are you on twitter?? I’d love to RT your blogs … My twitter name is WriterAJCarroll .. Hit me up… Ur blog should be shared!!!

    • singingpigs says:

      Aw, you’re sweet! I am on Twitter, but just got an account so I’m learning to use it. (Technology…not my forte!) But please, oh please follow me and retweet! @SingingPigs1

      Also have a fb page under Singing Pigs.

      A very Merry Christmas to you!

  3. A.J. Carroll says:

    Awesome! I am fixing to add you on twitter and in a little bit, on facebook… I’ve made some AWESOME friends via my writing mainly thur twitter …. not counting just on here… I look forward to knowing you more 🙂

  4. singingpigs says:

    Reblogged this on Singing Pigs and commented:

    An annual SP tradition…

  5. Pingback: From Zero to Hero – Day 4 and Saying Good-bye to my Son | Mama Cormier

Leave a Reply

